Original Cars Lineup Release Video for new Single, 'Blue Tip'; Long-Awaited new Album 'Move Like This' out May 10

2/22/2011 11:48am EST

The Cars

The original lineup of The Cars are back together and on the verge of releasing their first new studio album in 24 years.

"Move Like This" hits stores on May 10th and the album's first single, "Blue Tip," sounds as if the band hasn't missed a beat in all that time.

"This is not a reunion - it's more like a conjunction...I never thought I'd make another Cars record," frontman Ric Ocasek tells

The band officially broke-up in 1988 and Ocasek, until now, always refused to get back together with the band - guitarist Elliot Easton, keyboardist Greg Hawkes and drummer David Robinson (bassist Benjamin Orr passed away in 2000 after a brief battle with pancreatic cancer). The singer/songwriter even passed on a reunion tour in 2005, when Easton and Hawkes ventured out as The New Cars with singer/songwriter Todd Rundgren fronting the group.

But Ocasek warns fans not to expect the band on the road that often.

"This is not 'We're back, and you're gonna hear the hits,.'" he says; adding that he is open to doing more albums with the band.

Check out "Blue Tip":



The Cars


© 2011
Photo Credits: Concord Music Group

Sign up for our daily newsletter with great stories like this and more!